Cave of the Winds
The Cave of the Winds access trail and Observation Platforms at the base of the Bridal Veil and American Falls are a major attraction and tourist destination within Niagara Falls State Park. They attract more than 400,000 tourists per year.
The Cave of the Winds was a natural cave behind Bridal Veil Falls at the Niagara Falls. The cave was about 130 feet high and 100 feet wide and 30 feet in depth. In 1841, the guided tour started through Goat Island and descending down a staircase closer to the falls, into the cave. Due to a rock fall, the tour closed in 1920. It officially reopened in 1924, bringing visitors to the front of the Bridal Veil instead of behind it, on a series of decks and walkways. In 1954, the cave was destroyed completely due to a massive rockfall.
Today, the "Cave of the Winds" is the name of a tourist attraction near the same site. An elevator takes people from the area between the American and Canadian Falls down to the level of the Niagara River at the base of the American Falls. A series of redwood decks and platforms allow sightseers to walk right up to the base of the Bridal Veil Falls with water crashing down right on them and flowing beneath the decking. A special Cave of the Winds viewing area has also been set up for handicapped individuals and adults with children in arms.
Don't miss the Cave of the winds tour during your trip. It is the best way to get closer to the falls and experience the thundering power of water cascading down. Water actually splashes across sections of the boardwalk. Visitors need to wear the rain ponchos and rubber sandals.
The full Cave of the Winds tour operates from May to October. The decking is removed each fall due to the potential damage caused by ice buildup at the falls and re-installed each spring by park officials for sightseers to enjoy the experience.
Cave of the Winds Trip Niagara Falls, NY 14303 Niagara Falls State Park Telephone: (716) 278-1730